my essence

{If you’re here on the Noonday Collection Blog Train, howdy. And if you haven’t already, be sure to check out Kate’s post from Friday, and watch for Erin’s post Monday. And, might I interest you in a little give-away at the end of this post?}

guatemala 098

IMG_6582

IMG_6402

Photo Aug 08, 6 47 12 PM

DSC_0084

Thirteen of us walked through the door and down the narrow hallway. My stomach full of perpetual butterflies and eyes welling with tears at any given moment, we came to a warmly lit room where about seven women, various ages, sat quietly working around two tables.

IMG_6441

We stood circled around them, and we all exchanged smiles as our translator introduced us to Rosario.

Rosario has a sweet confidence about her. With her eight year old daughter standing in front of her, she spoke as an expert business woman of the ins and outs of running a business, and then shifted to a more personal tone. She said with conviction, “This work is my essence.”

As soon as the translation hit my ears, my tears no longer welled–they spilled down my cheeks.

She shared how she and her brother were blessed to be able to continue school (past the typical 6th or 7th grade education offered in their country) with their Dad’s encouragement, and now views it as her mission to help others rise in her community. “This is my dream,” she said looking around her home/workshop, where steady work has provided new hope for each artisan.

We admired the swiftness and skill of the women who sat still working as we listened. They were beading the Laguna Cuff, one of the two cuffs this group makes for Noonday Collection. I was wearing the other. My fellow Ambassador and new best friend, Amber, pointed to the lovely plum and silver geo cuff, and asked Rosario in Spanish, did she know the name of it? Rosario, shook her head. “Rosario,” Amber replied. The cuff’s namesake made a sweet inhale and touched her heart and she, too, let tears fall.

rosario2

The quiet didn’t last as we all giggled and began pointing out their work in our Look Books, asking for photos por favor, exchanging names, and sharing hugs.

IMG_6439IMG_6454

I worked my way to Rosario, knowing finally what I would say to her. I held her hand and said—in weak Spanish after getting help from Amber—“Tu soñar es mí soñar.” Your dream is my dream.

rosario and me

This was the first stop meeting our artisans in the highlands of Guatemala. And each time following was filled with the same gratifying experience of connecting with the faces and hands behind the work I have admired for so long. I now carry their stories with greater fervor and confidence. I know the names of many of the men and women who craft the pieces we wear. And I’ve sat where they sit. And I’ve seen what they’ve seen.

laguna ladies

{On the rooftop of Rosario’s home and the workshop for the beaded cuffs.}

IMG_6471

{On the second floor the men sew the leather to the bead work, and then wrap it around cut PVC pipe to finish the cuffs.}

IMG_6515

{Cristobal designed the La Noche bracelet. Pictured here with his wife and daughter. He asked us to pray for his wife as she recovers from recent health issues.}

IMG_1667

{Each La Noche bracelet takes about 4 hours to finish.}

Marijoy Hair

{Delores and her daughter Lourdes asked to touch my hair. They can finish 3-4 Galaxy Wrap bracelets per day. After trying it out, I think it would take me two days to finish one.}

IMG_6632

{Across Lake Atitalan, our weavers shared the process of crafting the Ana’s Scarf; an amazing, natural process. It takes about one week for a scarf to be completed.}

IMG_6613

IMG_6639

{We loved meeting the artisans’ children. I admired the true community the women seem to have.}

IMG_6700

{Tried my hand at weaving, too. Rosa was sweet, but I think I’ll stick to selling.}

IMG_6681

IMG_6622

guatemala 053

IMG_6646

{I was encouraged to see how the men lifted the women’s cause. Pedro, center, blessed our partnership. “Go back and use your freedom to move around to find customers, and we will work hard here doing what we do well.”}

10514329_10202672424427584_3331888837574402579_o

{The weavers at Ana’s shop gave us each a gift. But what I treasure, are their stories. One woman said because of Noonday, “To each problem, I now have a solution.”}

DSC_0255

{It was pure joy to watch Katie, a new adoptive Mama to twins, telling the women they helped her become a Mom.}

DSC_0269

DSC_0315_2

{I left a piece of my heart, and my Feathered Fringe earrings, in Guatemala.}

And I want to express to you, dear Noonday friend, your desire to make intentional choices with your money, and to share the stories behind the beautiful pieces you wear, is truly making a way, where there was no way.

Brokenness surrounds us.

But I’m learning, if each of us enters into that brokenness a little bit, to link arms—across a table, across an ocean—we can experience something special. A small healing maybe.

IMG_6813

Because in the reaching, we discover,

Our essence.

Learn more about our collaboration with our artisans here.
And maybe read a little about what strides Guatemala is making toward justice here.

And if you haven’t already, book a trunk show with an Ambassador near you. The impact is real and meaningful. And we can tell you so many more stories!

Let’s give these artisans some more orders, agreed? Shop our exclusive, elegant pieces online at marijoyhorton.noondaycollection.com.

And here’s a fun little challenge for those of you who have 10 minutes to spare. I’d like to give a $25 Noonday Collection gift voucher to one of you. Would you search the  #noondayguatemala and read through my and my Ambassador sisters’ stories? (on facebook or instagram) Then, come back here, comment below with your favorite story. I’ll draw for the winner on Friday. (Contest ends at 12 am, Friday August 29th.)

Thanks for coming by, and for being a part of this movement.

24 thoughts on “my essence

  1. So love your stories. I especially appreciate hearing the amount of time it takes to make these works of art. As you know noonday is not “cheap jewelry”…knowing the time and effort put into each piece puts the “cost” into perspective. Love noonday 🙂

  2. Love that you got to see firsthand how long it takes to make each piece and the difficulty behind each one. Loved the weaving and loom pics on Instagram!

  3. {I left a piece of my heart, and my Feathered Fringe earrings, in Guatemala.}
    You know she probably sleeps with those earrings! Thanks for dreaming and loving!

  4. I love how you tell the story of meeting Rosario and learning of her dream. How her dream is now your dream. I confess, some tears did leak out. Thank you for sharing Rosario’s as well as your own heart.

  5. I found Katie E’s account and loved reading her stories. (And as a fellow adoptive mom of twins, I’ll be following her account from here on! :))

  6. I love reading about meeting baby girl Laya and how making the La Noche bracelet was way harder than you thought. Also loved that they get to see themselves and all their hard work in the look book. It’s so fabulous!

  7. I love seeing the artisans looking for themselves and their pieces in the Fall look book! Their smiles convey the heart and soul they put into very piece!

  8. I follow Heidi, and it’s been fun to see all of the pics for sure! Whitney Ray is my local ambassador, so I’ve heard some great stories from her, as well! those matching bracelets are pretty sweet!

  9. I was told by Amber, your new best friend and my sister-in-law (who always has to push me to do things like follow Noonday), that Pedro had wanted to sell his beautiful scarves in the United States but wasn’t ever able to get a visa. It touched me that, through Noonday, he’s been given the dignity of selling his creations, supporting his family, and helping provide employment and dignity to others. Thank you for sharing their stories with us.

  10. Thanks ladies for your patience! Because it took me so long to make it back over here and announce, the voucher is $40. 😉 So, after an official old fashioned drawing by my husband, the winner is…. Brooke! Congratulations and thank you so much for joining me here. Check your email, your gift voucher is on its way.

Leave a Reply

