sewing the seeds of love

With a renewed love for my brothers and sisters that are oppressed around the world, a nudge from a friend, and my husband saying, “You should do this,” I decided to go for it–and become a Noonday Collection Ambassador. That was one year ago.

See this picture?

 summer 12 072

That’s about 50 pounds of coins. That stinking heavy sack was plopped in front of me on a Monday night by my Father-in-law. When he heard about my desire to use my flair for fashion and passion for the world as an Ambassador, he called and asked me to drop by.

He said he was encouraged that I wanted to do something to make a difference in the world. To sew good seeds. “So you’ll need a seed bag,” he said. Then he lugged that onto the table. “For you.”

He went on to say that when he was a missionary in Salzburg, he walked by a shop almost every day that had a beautiful wooden carving in the window. It pictured a farmer with a hat, a bag of seeds draped across him, scattering the seed gracefully with his arm outstretched. That image inspired me as it did him.

Collected steadily over two years time, the bag-o-coinage was more than I needed. $466.87 to be exact. {When Ben and I made guesstimates later that night I let my doubt slip out the lips, “What if it’s not enough?” Consternation on his face he replied, “God just lay what you needed right in front of you and you’re going to doubt it’s enough?” So yeah. That’s one reason I keep him around.}

It’s pretty cool to have someone believe in you like that. To catch a glimpse of your little dream and fan the flame to reality. And that’s exactly what we do at Noonday. We are not granting dignity to those beholden to us. We are taking the hands of the dignified. Dusting them off, fanning the flame of hope that is snuffed out by a shattered world. “Rebuilder of walls and a restorer of homes.”

I love being a part of the Noonday community because it keeps me focused on the big picture. The other Ambassadors inspire thoughtful living, serving, and loving. It’s humbling and fun to be a part of an eclectic mix of Jesus-lovers, hippies, homeschoolers, fashionistas, freedom fighters, blog-queens, adoptive moms, all sorts of freaking amazing women…Ambadassadors I prefer to call us.

And isn’t that worship in a way? To receive blessings and then use them to help make a better story for our world? I think that’s God’s plan. His Kingdom of Peace is constantly growing, and you and I can be a part. In whatever that looks like for you. Don’t you want to join in? To be involved in something bigger than yourself? To breathe life into each other?

Oh, and please. Of course there’s the jewelry. Gracious me. It’s awesome! Just look at this…

 Fall_2013_Launch_3

I mean come on!! We are talking about a couple in Uganda, who Noonday helped rise out of poverty, who have now cultivated legitimate artists from the desperate. These necklaces are paper beads woven into a thing of exquisite beauty. A story of hope found. Of generations changed. Tell me you don’t want to be a part of that.

I’m deeply grateful to be a part of that. Thank you, friends and family, for joining me.

May the seeds sprout, and blossom, and spread beyond our wildest dreams.

Interested advocating by partnering with me? Host a Trunk Show. It’s a blast. And you can earn money for your or a friend’s adoption. Or earn free Noonday pieces. It’s a pretty lovely way to be a world changer.

Isaiah 58 is a core inspiration and call…

Free those who are wrongly imprisoned;

lighten the burden of those who work for you.

Let the oppressed go free,

and remove the chains that bind people.

7Share your food with the hungry,

and give shelter to the homeless.

Give clothes to those who need them,

and do not hide from relatives who need your help.

8“Then your salvation will come like the dawn,

and your wounds will quickly heal.

Your godliness will lead you forward,

and the glory of the Lord will protect you from behind.

9Then when you call, the Lord will answer.

‘Yes, I am here,’ he will quickly reply.

“Remove the heavy yoke of oppression.

Stop pointing your finger and spreading vicious rumors!

10Feed the hungry,

and help those in trouble.

Then your light will shine out from the darkness,

and the darkness around you will be as bright as noon.

11The Lord will guide you continually,

giving you water when you are dry

and restoring your strength.

You will be like a well-watered garden,

like an ever-flowing spring.

12Some of you will rebuild the deserted ruins of your cities.

Then you will be known as a rebuilder of walls

and a restorer of homes.

8 thoughts on “sewing the seeds of love

  1. Whoa, girl. That was amazing. Beautiful, eloquent writing- what a gift! I’m just starting the Noonday journey… In awe of the company and the network of truly inspiring women like you that give it hands, feet, and heart!

  2. I just wanted to say that I absolutely adore Noonday. My favorite “seed piece” is the Embira Seed Necklace. I love the fact that it was made in Uganda. Thank you for sharing a bit of your story!

  3. Oh! I had chills as I read… I found your link from the Ambassador FB page. How beautiful! I’m a new Ambassador and when I decided to sign up, I knew we couldn’t/shouldn’t use our regular income/savings to pay the initial calls. I threw some things up on ebay and my stuff went for way more than comparable items…and doubled my goal! It was meant to be. So thankful for Noonday and for stories like this.

  4. Pingback: Noonday Ambassador Blog Train | the state we're in

Leave a Reply

