girl in process

It doesn’t even seem like I make progress most days. I’m just a girl in process.

I love the song I sing with the kids: “He’s still working on me, to make me all I want to be. It took Him just a week to make the moon and the stars, the sun and the Earth and Jupiter and Mars. How loving and patient is He? ‘Cuz He’s still working on me.”

earth from space

Because I know down deep that I am fearfully complex and wonderful. But if I’m the one working on me, I’m the one failing me. And wouldn’t it be so much better to surrender to the Master Artist and see just what it is He has in store? I’m pretty sure I couldn’t do better. And I’m free when I trust as He unveils more of the me He intented, rather than pretend I’ve arrived. I’ll know I’ve arrived when I’m seeing the wrinkles around His eyes. I’m not saying the waiting is easy, just, free.

And it’s so much more exciting right now to see others as a gift unwrapping before my eyes. Gifts in the miracle of the making. I won’t expect you to be you perfect today if you won’t expect me. Deal?

One thought on “girl in process

Leave a Reply

